top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

TECH PROJECT Log 5

This is the configuration on my LaunchPad Pro in Session mode. I thought I would use Note Mode more, however this is convenient as Session Mode acts as more of the control surface where I can see an overview of which parts are playing.


Column 1 = Arpeggiator

Column 2 = Bass

Column 3 = 3 different drum patterns (kick + snare, then kick+snare+hat, and then just kick).

Column 4 = Glittery warm chord synth

Column 5 = Bass guitar basslines x2

Column 6 = 80s synthpad used in the bridge

Column 7 = Backing vocal layer 1 (low harmonies)

Column 8 = Backing vocal layer 2 (high harmonies)


And...

Top row = Verse

Middle row = Chorus

Bottom row = Bridge



I was having a few issues with my Launchpad and then I realised I had to update my Novation driver on my computer. So that was helpful!!


I basically did a lot of experimentation with which parts would sound the best in particular parts. I wanted it to be super full and heavy at the beginning, then a little stripped back in the verse, then heavy again in the chorus, and in the bridge have it quite big and atmospheric but also with a sense of softness and fragility.


I also figured out the 'delete' button on the side of the Launchpad, as well as 'quantise'. The arrows on the right hand side will select an entire row of pads, making it helpful if I need to select and deselect multiple pads at once.


With my LaunchKey, I have decided to use it mainly for the bassline recording and chords. I also mapped various effect controls to the faders on the LaunchKey - such as the auto filter on most channels, and reverb on the vocals.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page