top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

TECH PROJECT Log 3

Okay... yes I keep making more and more ideas!! I'm a bit undecided.


I made two more, I spent even more time on each one of these. I'm really liking both of them, so I may pick from one of these to work on for my project. I'm still not entirely sure yet.



Above: draft 4 screenshot, and SoundCloud file.



Above: draft 5 screenshot and SoundCloud file.


I particularly spent time on Draft 5 - I considered the idea of doing like an electronic version of Stevie Wonder's Superstition. I spent a full day - so so many many hours working on this one, and practised looping on my Launchpad heaps.


However, I also realised that sometimes when I record in MIDI notes, they don't always quantise the way I would like them to. I am also worried that if I make a mistake, then I'll have to re-record it live and that could lose the flow of the performance.

But I came up with a fix for this.


I decided to record in every single layer (in yellow). I decided to organise it so every horizontal row is a verse, then the bridge un, and then the chorus.


But, I still wanted to record in all my parts live. So, at the beginning of the performance, I will live record into the cells highlighted in green. I will rely on these green cells, however if I completely stuff up a layer, I can simply select a pre-recorded midi track (in yellow) to substitute for the part I messed up.


Evidently, I am creating duplicates, so I have a backup plan in case something goes wrong.

I think this system will work really well - even with the colour co-ordination so everything is super clear for me.


Ooo this is getting exciting!!





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page