top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

Remix Assessment - Post 4

August 19th-22nd 2022


Version 3.0: After revisiting version 2.0, to be honest I just wanted to do something even heavier. The sample itself – being a Beastie Boys rap, wasn’t really suiting the disco theme. The previous two versions could work as their own tracks perhaps, without the Intergalactic sample. I also wanted to write something slightly more aligned with my personal music style and something I could release as an artist or use in a DJ set. I decided to start a Version 3 and was very influenced by the bass house/midtempo style this time round. The production techniques in Be Right Back (Menso x Loudjaxx) were of inspiration to me as it’s seems to utilise piecing together track through intense sampling/glitching to create full rhythmic layers and loops. I wanted to go for a similar feel where I was piecing together various samples together to create a heavy sound work. They also used a lot of white noise which adds movement and drive to the sound - a popular technique in EDM that I certainly do not do enough of...


I started off with just a percussion loop created using some kick/snare/hat samples as well as cutting and splicing small elements of the Intergalactic sample to create interesting tone colours and textures, as well as some other oneshots I had in my sample collection. I also copied and pasted elements from my previous version and experimented with writing new sections, and revisiting old sections. I ended up getting carried away and created far too many versions of choruses and I was having difficulty in trying to be ruthless and remove versions that didn’t add anything to the track.


Below: Some images of various versions of the Intergalactic samples that I was merging together.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remix Assessment - Post 3

15th+ 16th August 2022 DRAFT 2.0 was submitted & feedback received in class on August 16th. I received positive feedback – the main area I needed to work on is utilizing the acapella sample itself, ra

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page