top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

Remix Assessment - Post 3


15th+ 16th August 2022


DRAFT 2.0 was submitted & feedback received in class on August 16th.


I received positive feedback – the main area I needed to work on is utilizing the acapella sample itself, rather than simply producing underneath the vocals. My tutor liked how mine was quite aggressive and EDM focussed and to keep playing into that, and also gave me an idea to really emphasise the final word of each vocal phrase using various techniques.

My tutor also talked about the importance of crafting small elements of simplicity and the ways in which they can lead to complexity in a track, and how that can make a piece of digital music seem more organic. In the past I have been someone who has had multiple complex layers in a track, as I often would not meticulously craft one layer at a time as I would get too distracted on the end goal; what the overarching ‘big picture’ was going to look like. After hearing this I really wanted to go back into Ableton and start again - but this time, have more patience with myself and allow myself to slowly watching the sound work unfold by focussing on each little layer and how they can weave together to create something organic & complex.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page