top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

Remix Assessment - Post 2

August 13th 2022


Version 2.0: As Version 1.0 wasn't really working, I went for a slightly heavier synthwave vibe this time round. I started creating aggressive basslines out of the original sample by pitch bending, cutting, reversing and using compression and sidechaining. I formulated a verse/chorus form (verses were heavy and choruses were bright and airy so slightly inconsistent tone colours).


I also noticed the first issue with my sample; the robovoice/vocoder sound in the chorus is slightly detuned, so whenever I changed the pitch by a semitone, it would never perfectly align with the key I was in (for example, if I wanted to have the sample in F, the sound is slightly sharp – but still too ‘flat’ to be considered a F#.) I tried my best to correct this using an autotune plugin where I set it to the specific key, and it did slightly correct this issue.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remix Assessment - Post 3

15th+ 16th August 2022 DRAFT 2.0 was submitted & feedback received in class on August 16th. I received positive feedback – the main area I needed to work on is utilizing the acapella sample itself, ra

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page