top of page
  • oliviarosemcnamara

ELEVATOR PITCHES AND OTHER STUFF (Week 9)

In the Seminar we discussed our elevator pitches!! We went around the class discussing what we will be doing for our projects.


I have decided to do an individual live looping performance using Ableton Live. I will record in samples, and play them on my Novation Launchpad Pro, including playing drum patterns. I have owned a Launchpad for a few years now but never really known where to start and how it works, so it's been sitting in a drawer all this time. I think this is the perfect opportunity to explore it and hopefully I will be skilled enough to perform with it by the end of the semester.


I will also link this up to my Novation Launchkey 49; I am a bit more familiar with this one. I will use the Launchkey to play notes, and can MIDI map effects to the faders and knobs. I will probably use a software plugin for synthesis.

I would like to learn how both devices can work together through looping on Ableton Live and I think this is indeed possible. I would also like to loop my vocals too; I'm not sure completely how it would work yet, but this is the perfect time to begin experimenting!


Once we had discussed our elevator pitches, we talked a little about the HSC Music syllabus in schools. Music 2 makes up 0.9% of the whole HSC cohort and the majority of music students do Music 1.


James told us two ideas to try and fight for keeping Music 2 in schools:


School of thought #1)

  • HSC syllabus is nearly 20 years old, and it's time to update it.

  • Creating more diversity (not all about dead white males)

  • For example, a HSC major work could be creating electroacoustic work without scores


School of thought #2)

  • Because Music 1 includes popular music and cultures (being simplistic) and Music 2 focusses on ‘art music’ which is complex - therefore better for brains

  • James then told us that Music 1 scales down, and Music 2 doesn’t scale down = so NESA agrees that Music 1 is simplistic. A mark of 85 could scale down to a mark of 62 in Music 1.

Looking forward to see what next week brings!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GTD (Week 13... final week!)

This is our final week!!! This lesson was a pretty chill lesson. We were given the first hour to work on our Tech projects. I spent my time doing a bit of producing, coming up with some musical ideas,

THE LEARNING MANAGEMENT SYSTEM (Week 12)

This week we had Brad Fuller take our class. He discussed the importance of having a fully functioning LMS (Learning Management System) - a technology platform used to educate students, as well as the

BYOD AND ONLINE LEARNING (Week 11)

In Week 10 we did not have class as it was Special Projects Week, so in Week 11 we discussed BYOD/online learning. This means to "Bring Your Own Device" - where the class engages in the lesson by by h

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page